Authority Members

Carl R. Knoch, Chairman

Carl joined the Authority in 1998 and became its chairman in 2000. In addition to being a long-time user of the Heritage Rail Trail and the Maryland NCR Trail, Carl served on the York County Parks Department’s Transition Committee for the Heritage Rail Trail County Park. Carl has provided invaluable assistance to the Rail Trail Authority and the York County Parks Department in the development of user surveys and economic impact analyses. He retired in July 2015 as Manager of Trail Development for the Northeast Regional Office of the Rails-to-Trails Conservancy. He resides in New Freedom, PA.

Mack Johnson, Vice-Chairman

Mack joined the Authority in May 2002. He served as a non-voting representative for the County of York, until his appointment in April 2003 as a voting member of the Rail Trail Authority. Mack brings to the Authority approximately 30 years of experience in management in both the public and private sectors, and he is an avid proponent of rails-to-trails.

Dale Keagy, Treasurer

Dale was appointed to the Authority in January 2015 and began serving as its treasurer. He is a Certified Public Accountant and holds a Master’s Degree in Business Administration. He retired from Southern York County School District in 2008 where he was the business administrator for 26 years. Most recently, he was an adjunct instructor at Wilkes University in the University’s school business leadership program. Other volunteer interests include service on boards of several community organizations. He resides in Springettsbury Township.

Ed Hughes, Secretary

As owner of the Whistle Stop Bike Shop in New Freedom, PA, Ed has seen the Heritage Rail Trail County Park develop from its inception in the early 1990’s. He began serving as secretary of the Authority in 1994, and has served on such committees as the Planning Committee, Owners and Operators Committee, Hanover Junction and New Freedom Stations’ Restoration Committee, and Heritage Committee. In addition to being an avid bicyclist, Ed has a keen interest in railroads. He is a past Shrewsbury Township supervisor.

Jeffrey Hines

Jeff joined the Authority in November 2011.  As President and Chief Executive Officer of The York Water Company, Jeff also serves on the Pennsylvania State Water Resources Advisory Committee, the Lower Susquehanna Water Resources Committee, the National Association of Water Companies, and York College’s Board of Trustees.  Prior to his service with The York Water Company, Jeff served in the US Army Corps of Engineers, where he was deployed to Afghanistan and Kuwait after the terrorist attacks in September 11, 2001.  As an avid long-distance runner and member of the York Road Runners, Jeff can often be seen with his wife Patti on the Heritage Rail Trail County Park.

Frank Kempf

Frank was appointed to the Authority in January 2014. Prior to this, Frank served as a citizen member of the Authority’s Planning Committee and Hanover Trolley Trail Operating Committee since 2012. Frank became chairman of the Planning Committee in November 2015. Frank has more than 40 years public and private-sector experiences in the highway-building industry. Most notably, Frank retired as Chief Engineer of the PA Turnpike Commission.  He is an avid hiker, runner, and cyclist who looks forward to expanding his community service.  

Lori Mitrick

Lori was appointed to the Authority in June 2016. She is currently an Adjunct Professor in the Department of History and Political Science of York College of Pennsylvania.  Her public service includes President Commissioner of the York County Board of Commissioners from 2004 to 2008 and Chairman of the Board of the Springettsbury Township Board of Supervisors from 1992 to 2003. Other community service includes President of the Board for the York County Literacy Council and Board Director of the York County Community Foundation.

Danielle Stehman

Danielle was appointed to the Authority in April 2015. Prior to her appointment, she served on the Authority’s Planning Committee in 2015.  She holds a Master of Architecture Degree from the University of Oregon and is an Architect with Buchart Horn Architects of York, PA. Danielle has a special interest in urban design and planning.

Ann Yost

Ann was appointed to the Authority in November 2014. She is a registered landscape architect and principal with YSM, a York-based park and recreation planning firm. Ann brings to the Authority a wealth of talent, including over twenty-five years experience in both private and public landscape design, feasibility studies, and master plans for park and recreation agencies across Pennsylvania. She resides in Hopewell Township, where she serves as chairman of the planning commission.

Emeritus Members:

Henry Herrman

Henry served on the Authority since its beginning in 1990 and became its first emeritus member in May 2016. His service included chairman of the Owners and Operators Committee and most recently as a member of the Hanover Trolley Trail’s Trail Operations Committee. During his active tenure, Henry brought to the Authority a tremendous amount of local railroad knowledge and enthusiasm for converting the County’s Northern Central rail line to a rails-with-trails county park. Henry’s other community service includes the Red Lion Historical Society, the local volunteer fire company, and St. Paul UM Church. Henry continues to find time for his favorite pastime: riding the rails by motor car. Henry resides in Red Lion, PA.